Abel Prize award ceremony 2023: Luis A. Caffarelli

His Majesty King Harald V presented the 2023 Abel Prize to Luis A. Caffarelli at the award ceremony in the University of Oslo Ceremonial Hall (University Aula) 23st of May 2023.

The ceremony at the University aula is both touching and beautiful. The aula is decorated with the Norwegian artist Edvard Munch's monumental paintings.


Master of Ceremonies: Nadia Hasnaoui
President of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters: Lise Øvreås
Chair of the Abel Committee: Helge Holden

Musicians: Per Arne Glorvigen (bandoneon) Birgitta Elisa Oftestad (cello) Oscar Abel Valand Halvorsen (piano)

Production by Gyro AS.

0:15 Edvard Grieg: Morning mood. Performed by Birgitta Elisa Oftestad (cello) and Oscar Abel Valand Halvorsen (piano)
0:55 Nadia Hasnaoui introduces Lise Ovreaas, president of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
07:37 Cesar Franck Violin Sonata Fourt Movement: Allegretto poco mosso
14:20 Nadia Hasnaoui introduces Chair of the Abel Committee Helge Holden
17:19 Luis Caffarellis life in Texas
21:42 Helge Holden presents the citation from the committee
27:18 His Majesty King Harald presents the Abel Prize to Luis Caffarelli
28:03 Acceptance speach by Luis Caffarelli
32:28 Eduardo Arolas: El Marne. Performed by Per Arne Glorvigen.
35:58 Lise Ovreaas
37:53 Bandoneonimprovisation on Prelude in G (Bach/Glorvigen).
Performed by Glorvigen and Oftestad
41:51 Prosession and "Abelfanfare" by Lyder Øvreås Røed