The Kavli Prize

Kavliprisbannere på Karl Johan
Oslo city honouring the Kavli prize laureates.

Science prizes for the future

Every second year the Kavli Prize is awarded to outstanding scientists for their seminal advances in nanoscience, astrophysics and neuroscience – the smallest, the biggest and the most complex.

The Kavli Prize was awarded for the first time in 2008 as a partnership between:

  • The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • The Kavli Foundation (US)
  • The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research

The laureates receive a gold medal, a diploma and USD 1,000,000 in each of the scientific fields.

Selection of the Kavli Laureates
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints the three prize committees after receiving recommendations from international academies and equivalent scientific organizations. The prize committees review the nominated candidates and submit their recommendations to the board of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

The President of the Academy announces the prize winners.

The laureates receive their prizes from H.M. King Harald V, or from another member of the Norwegian Royal Family, at an award ceremony in Oslo.

Kong Harald overrekker Kavliprisen i astrofysikk til f.v. Alan H. Guth, Andrei D. Linde og Alexei A. Starobinsky. Foto: Håkon Mosvold Larsen/NTB Scanpix
HM King Harald V hands over the Kavli Prize.

Our partners
The Norwegian-born philanthropist Fred Kavli brought his curiosity about the smallest, biggest and most complex scientific mysteries with him to the US and established The Kavli Foundation. Fred Kavli was a driving-force behind the establishment of the Kavli Prize in 2005. Responsible for the Kavli Prize cash award, The Kavli Foundation remains an important partner.

Fred Kavli at the award ceremony in Oslo Concert Hall. (Photo: Håkon Mosvold Larsen/Scanpix)
Fred Kavli established the Kavli Prize.

The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research hosts the Kavli Prize Banquet in honor of the Kavli Prize Laureates on behalf of the Norwegian government. The Ministry is also involved in the development of the Kavli Prize together with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and The Kavli Foundation.