The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters Teacher's award

Akademiets lærerpris
Anne-Marit Selstø Rathke, Linn-Merethe Kipsgård Godfrey and Terje Pedersen receive their Teacher of the year 2017 diploma from Ole M Sejersted, former president of the Academy. Svein Sjøberg to the far right.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters teacher's award

This  prize is awarded to a teacher in primary school, secondary school or high school for his or her extraordinary efforts.

Both headmasters, teachers, pupils and parents are invited to nominate candidates.

The prize amount is NOK 50.000, and it is awarded every other year.

When suggesting the laureate, the prize committee emphasizes the teacher’s ability to create interest for the subject, as well as to encourage the pupils to continue their good work after finishing school.

The prize committee provides its suggestion to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters Board, which makes the final decision.

Deadline for nominations is 1 March every other year, next time in 2021.

The Academy Teacher of the year prize was established in 2009 in memory of Daniel Føllesdal (1869-1923), his wife Bertha (1871-1937) and six of their children, who were all teachers.

Professor Inger Moen, former president of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, headed the prize committee until 2015 when Svein Sjøberg took over.

Prize committee members
The prize committee consists of four members, appointed by the Academy Board.
For the period 2017 – 2019 the members are:

  • Svein Sjøberg (leader)
  • Cecilie Mauritzen
  • Hilde Sandvik
  • Steffen Handal  

Guidelines for Research Ethics for Prizes Awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (pdf)